Holiday Jacket 101: The Extreme Basics

November 29, 2009 at 9:41 pm (Affordable, Business, Casual, Cocktail, Day to Evening, Fit Guide, Formal, Holiday, Under $40) (, , , , , , , , , )

Holiday Jacket: Fit Guide

Satin Lapel Single Button Jacket $29.80 @ Forever21

Holiday Jacket: Fit Guide

Velvet w/Satin Trim Single Button Jacket $29.80 @ Forever21

Holiday Jacket: Fit Guide

Wool Blend Single Button Tux $32.80 @ Forever21

This post is focusing on the jacket and how to fit it to my body. I have a slight waist with a belly so I need something that adds definition and disguises my tummy. A single breasted jacket with shape detailing, such as princess seams, can be a life saver. Yeah, I haven’t been as dedicated to working out since the baby.  And, I am on the type of  restricted budget you only find in Orwell novels. Yet, I digress.

I am going to try and make this as short, sweet, & as succint as possible. It’s the holidays and I understand that you may not have a lot of time to dawdle. I have this amazing sequin dress I want to wear to a party. A dress is only a dress (even a sequin one) if it isn’t styled properly. Don’t depend on the sequins to ferret you into the highly stylish category in one fell swoop. So, I decided to add a jacket (preferably of a tux style), some light jewelry (since the dress shines enough on its own), a clutch, & shoes.

Feel free to send some feedback or ask questions. I will be more than happy to help you find that piece to put you at the stop of the impressively styled list.

Leave a Reply

